For Colored Girls

Los Angeles– Tyler Perry’s “For Colored Girls” dominated Friday night’s NAACP Image Awards winning the best picture, director and supporting-actress prizes. Halle Berry won the outstanding actress prize “Frankie & Alice,” and also shared a heartfelt acceptance speech about achieving her childhood dream. Also read: 25 Reasons We Love Blaxploitation Films

  Christopher Smitherman Christopher Smitherman- President of the NAACP Cincinnati Chapter.  The first person to vote in Hamilton County! 23% percentage of votes that will be thrown out. After several voters were asked to vote at the wrong polling places or table these particular 800plus votes are to being challenged. He also touched on the […]

I went to see “For Colored Girls,” the exciting new film made by the great Tyler Perry.  I love Tyler’s work, most of the time, and I’ve defended him on multiple occasions when he’s come under attack for the nature of his films.  Spike Lee is one particular Tyler Perry hater that I’ve taken issue […]

It is the best perfromance of the night on B.E.T.’s Black Girls Rock celebration yesterday evening! This weekend we saw hundreds of black women (young, old, and of many shades) fill the showcase to experience For Colored Girls, directed by Tyler Perry. There is a record, a Nina Simone original, entitled Four Women. Kelly Price, Marsha […]

Director Tyler Perry has thrown his hat in the Oscar ring with For Colored Girls. Based on Ntozake Shange’s groundbreaking 1974 choreopoem, the film boasts a dazzling, multigenerational cast of black actresses: Janet Jackson, Kimberly Elise, Loretta Devine, Thandie Newton, Phylicia Rashad, Tessa Thompson, Whoopi Goldberg, and Macy Gray.

Earlier this week, music’s megastar singer, songwriter, producer and astounding actress Janet Jackson stopped by The View to speak with the ladies about her highly anticipated starring role in “For Colored Girls,” which is in theaters Friday, November 5th. After her interview, she hung out backstage with the crew and each of The View’s co-hosts. […]